NOVELS AND SHORT STORIES BY AUTHOR

PUBLISHER
Wakefield Press

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 4.5 x 7 in. / 112 pgs / 6 bw.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2016 p. 72   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781939663184 TRADE
List Price: $12.95 CDN $18.50 GBP £10.99

AVAILABILITY
In stock

BROWSE THE 2019 SPRING CATALOG

Check out our Spring 2019 catalog, featuring more than 500 new books on art & culture. We welcome new publishers Arquine, Atelier Éditions, August Editions, The Design Museum, London, Eakins Press, Editions Patrick Frey, Fulgur Press, Kasmin, Lisson Gallery, Marciano Art Foundation, Marsilio Editori, Onomatopee and Ridinghouse to our list in 2019!

  

WAKEFIELD PRESS

The Cathedral of Mist

By Paul Willems. Introduction and translation by Edward Gauvin. Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne.

A late collection of short stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories, and impossible architecture.

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.
Paul Willems (1912–97) published his first novel, Everything Here Is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.
The Cathedral of Mist

in stock  $12.95


Free Shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S.
FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

FORTHCOMING AND NEW: FICTION AND POETRY

The Black Flame of Paradise (A Novel)

THE BLACK FLAME OF PARADISE (A NOVEL)

By Zachary Cahill. Preface by Catherine Malabou.

MOUSSE PUBLISHING

ISBN: 9788867493395
USD $19.00
| CAN $29.95

Pub Date: 2/19/2019
Active | In stock


Lydia Cabrera: Between the Sum and the Parts

LYDIA CABRERA: BETWEEN THE SUM AND THE PARTS

WALTHER KöNIG, KöLN/AMERICAS SOCIETY

ISBN: 9783960985037
USD $25.00
| CAN $34.95

Pub Date: 6/18/2019
Forthcoming


Curl

CURL

By T.O. Bobe. Translation by Sean Cotter.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663429
USD $12.95
| CAN $19.95 UK £ 10.99

Pub Date: 4/23/2019
Active | In stock


Samalio Pardulus

SAMALIO PARDULUS

By Otto Julius Bierbaum. Illustrations by Alfred Kubin. Translation by W.C. Bamberger.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663412
USD $12.95
| CAN $19.95 UK £ 10.99

Pub Date: 4/23/2019
Forthcoming


The Sundays of Jean Dézert

THE SUNDAYS OF JEAN DéZERT

By Jean de La Ville de Mirmont. Translation by André Naffis-Sahely.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663405
USD $12.95
| CAN $19.95 UK £ 10.99

Pub Date: 4/23/2019
Forthcoming


Head-to-Toe Portrait of Suzanne

HEAD-TO-TOE PORTRAIT OF SUZANNE

By Roland Topor. Introduction and translation by Andrew Hodgson.

ATLAS PRESS

ISBN: 9780993148750
USD $11.95
| CAN $16.5

Pub Date: 1/22/2019
Active | In stock


La Caixa Collection: Maria Fusco

LA CAIXA COLLECTION: MARIA FUSCO

Text by Maria Fusco.

WHITECHAPEL GALLERY

ISBN: 9780854882748
USD $20.00
| CAN $29.95

Pub Date: 7/23/2019
Forthcoming


Enrique Vila-Matas: Cabinet d'amateur, an oblique novel

ENRIQUE VILA-MATAS: CABINET D'AMATEUR, AN OBLIQUE NOVEL

Text by Enrique Vila-Matas.

WHITECHAPEL GALLERY

ISBN: 9780854882731
USD $20.00
| CAN $29.95

Pub Date: 3/19/2019
Active | In stock


Treatise on Modern Stimulants

TREATISE ON MODERN STIMULANTS

By Honoré de Balzac. Introduction and translation by Kassy Hayden. Illustrations by Pierre Alechinsky.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663382
USD $12.95
| CAN $18.5 UK £ 10.99

Pub Date: 11/20/2018
Active | In stock


Whiskey Tales

WHISKEY TALES

By Jean Ray. Translation and afterword by Scott Nicolay.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663368
USD $15.95
| CAN $22.5 UK £ 13.99

Pub Date: 2/19/2019
Active | In stock


Little Women

LITTLE WOMEN

By Louisa M. Alcott. Abridged by W. Dingwall Fordyce. Illustrations by Norman Little.

ART / BOOKS

ISBN: 9781908970404
USD $24.95
| CAN $33.95

Pub Date: 12/18/2018
Active | In stock


Psychology of the Rich Aunt

PSYCHOLOGY OF THE RICH AUNT

By Erich Mühsam. Introduction and translation by Erik Butler.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663375
USD $12.95
| CAN $18.5 UK £ 10.99

Pub Date: 7/24/2018
Active | In stock




print icon


arrow back


arrow back


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com