NOVELS AND SHORT STORIES BY AUTHOR

PUBLISHER
Wakefield Press

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 4.5 x 7 in. / 112 pgs / 6 bw.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2016 p. 72   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781939663184 TRADE
List Price: $12.95 CDN $16.95

AVAILABILITY
In stock

PREVIEW THE SPRING 2018 CATALOG

STAFF FAVORITE * HOLIDAY GIFTS *

SHOP OUR 2017 HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE!

Gift Guide

STOCKING STUFFERS, ART, PHOTO, DESIGN, FASHION, and more!

  

WAKEFIELD PRESS

The Cathedral of Mist

By Paul Willems. Introduction and translation by Edward Gauvin. Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne.

A late collection of short stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories, and impossible architecture.

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.
Paul Willems (1912–97) published his first novel, Everything Here Is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.
The Cathedral of Mist

in stock  $12.95


Free Shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S.
FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

FORTHCOMING AND NEW: FICTION AND POETRY

Psychology of the Rich Aunt

PSYCHOLOGY OF THE RICH AUNT

By Erich Mühsam. Introduction and translation by Erik Butler.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663375 | US $12.95

Pub Date: 5/22/2018
Forthcoming


Archive of the Average Swede

ARCHIVE OF THE AVERAGE SWEDE

By Fabian Kastner. Edited by Sina Najafi.

CABINET BOOKS

ISBN: 9781932698817 | US $12.00

Pub Date: 1/23/2018
Forthcoming


The Ambivalents

THE AMBIVALENTS

By Sally O'Reilly. Edited by Sina Najafi.

CABINET BOOKS

ISBN: 9781932698800 | US $12.00

Pub Date: 2/27/2018
Forthcoming


Imaginary Lives

IMAGINARY LIVES

By Marcel Schwob. Introduction and translation by Chris Clarke.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663344 | US $14.95

Pub Date: 3/27/2018
Forthcoming


The Children's Crusade

THE CHILDREN'S CRUSADE

By Marcel Schwob. Foreword by Jorge Luis Borges. Translation by Kit Schluter.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663351 | US $11.95

Pub Date: 3/27/2018
Forthcoming


Wishes

WISHES

By Georges Perec. Introduction and translation by Mara Cologne Wythe-Hall.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663337 | US $17.95

Pub Date: 5/22/2018
Forthcoming


Orhan Pamuk: Balkon

ORHAN PAMUK: BALKON

Text by Orhan Pamuk.

STEIDL

ISBN: 9783958293991 | US $45.00

Pub Date: 3/27/2018
Forthcoming


Odd Jobs

ODD JOBS

By Tony Duvert. Introduction by S.C. Delaney. Translation by S.C. Delaney, Agnès Potier.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663290 | US $11.95

Pub Date: 11/21/2017
Active | In stock


Mademoiselle Bambù

MADEMOISELLE BAMBù

By Pierre Mac Orlan. Translation and introduction by Chris Clarke. Illustrations by Gus Bofa.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663252 | US $22.95

Pub Date: 1/23/2018
Forthcoming


Hashish

HASHISH

By Oscar A.H. Schmitz. Translation and introduction by W.C. Bamberger. Illustrations by Alfred Kubin. Afterword by James J. Conway.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663313 | US $15.95

Pub Date: 1/23/2018
Forthcoming


Farewell, Circus

FAREWELL, CIRCUS

By Woon-Yeoung Cheon.

KAYA PRESS

ISBN: 9781885030580 | US $18.95

Pub Date: 6/26/2018
Forthcoming


District

DISTRICT

By Tony Duvert. Introduction by S.C. Delaney. Translation by S.C. Delaney, Agnès Potier.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663306 | US $11.95

Pub Date: 11/21/2017
Active | In stock




print icon


arrow back


arrow back


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com