NOVELS AND SHORT STORIES BY AUTHOR

PUBLISHER
Wakefield Press

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 4.5 x 7 in. / 112 pgs / 6 bw.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2016 p. 72   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781939663184 TRADE
List Price: $12.95 CDN $18.50

AVAILABILITY
In stock

BROWSE THE 2018 FALL CATALOG

From 'Led Zeppelin by Led Zeppelin' to 'The Swimming Pool in Photography' to 'Protest: The Aesthetics of Resistance,' with new monographs on Yayoi Kusama, Hilma af Klint, James Turrell and Jack Whitten, and announcing D.A.P. distribution for Glenstone Museum and SPBH Editions.

  

WAKEFIELD PRESS

The Cathedral of Mist

By Paul Willems. Introduction and translation by Edward Gauvin. Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne.

A late collection of short stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories, and impossible architecture.

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.
Paul Willems (1912–97) published his first novel, Everything Here Is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.
The Cathedral of Mist

in stock  $12.95


Free Shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S.
FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

FORTHCOMING AND NEW: FICTION AND POETRY

Little Women

LITTLE WOMEN

By Louisa M. Alcott. Abridged by W. Dingwall Fordyce. Illustrations by Norman Little.

ART / BOOKS

ISBN: 9781908970404 | US $24.95

Pub Date: 9/25/2018
Forthcoming


Whiskey Tales

WHISKEY TALES

By Jean Ray. Translation and afterword by Scott Nicolay.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663368 | US $15.95

Pub Date: 11/20/2018
Forthcoming


Treatise on Modern Stimulants

TREATISE ON MODERN STIMULANTS

By Honoré de Balzac. Introduction and translation by Kassy Hayden. Illustrations by Pierre Alechinsky.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663382 | US $12.95

Pub Date: 9/25/2018
Forthcoming


Psychology of the Rich Aunt

PSYCHOLOGY OF THE RICH AUNT

By Erich Mühsam. Introduction and translation by Erik Butler.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663375 | US $12.95

Pub Date: 7/24/2018
Active | In stock


Archive of the Average Swede

ARCHIVE OF THE AVERAGE SWEDE

By Fabian Kastner. Edited by Sina Najafi.

CABINET BOOKS

ISBN: 9781932698817 | US $12.00

Pub Date: 2/27/2018
Active | In stock


The Ambivalents

THE AMBIVALENTS

By Sally O'Reilly. Edited by Sina Najafi.

CABINET BOOKS

ISBN: 9781932698800 | US $12.00

Pub Date: 2/27/2018
Active | In stock


Imaginary Lives

IMAGINARY LIVES

By Marcel Schwob. Introduction and translation by Chris Clarke.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663344 | US $14.95

Pub Date: 3/27/2018
Active | In stock


The Children's Crusade

THE CHILDREN'S CRUSADE

By Marcel Schwob. Foreword by Jorge Luis Borges. Translation by Kit Schluter.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663351 | US $11.95

Pub Date: 3/27/2018
Active | In stock


Wishes

WISHES

By Georges Perec. Introduction and translation by Mara Cologne Wythe-Hall.

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663337 | US $17.95

Pub Date: 7/24/2018
Forthcoming


Orhan Pamuk: Balkon

ORHAN PAMUK: BALKON

Text by Orhan Pamuk.

STEIDL

ISBN: 9783958293991 | US $40.00

Pub Date: 12/18/2018
Forthcoming


Theory of MultiDreams

THEORY OF MULTIDREAMS

By Jean-Philippe Cazier. Edited by Daniele Riviere. Illustrated by Andreas Marchal. Translated by Jeffrey Zuckerman.

DIS VOIR

ISBN: 9782914563857 | US $29.00

Pub Date: 9/26/2017
Active | In stock


City of the Future

CITY OF THE FUTURE

By Sesshu Foster.

KAYA PRESS

ISBN: 9781885030559 | US $18.95

Pub Date: 4/24/2018
Active | In stock




print icon


arrow back


arrow back


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com