fb pixcode

NOVELS AND SHORT STORIES BY AUTHOR

PUBLISHER
Wakefield Press

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 4.5 x 7 in. / 128 pgs / 6 bw.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2016 p. 72   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781939663184 TRADE
List Price: $14.95 CDN $19.95 GBP £10.99

AVAILABILITY
In stock

DOWNLOAD THE SPRING 2023 CATALOG

Artbook | D.A.P. Catalog Cover Link
Preview our Spring 2023 catalog, featuring more than 500 new books on art, photography, design, architecture, film, music and visual culture.
  

WAKEFIELD PRESS

The Cathedral of Mist

By Paul Willems. Introduction and translation by Edward Gauvin. Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne.

A collection of ethereal stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.
Paul Willems (191297) published his first novel, Everything Here Is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.
The Cathedral of Mist

in stock  $14.95


Free Shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S.
FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

FORTHCOMING AND NEW: FICTION AND POETRY

The Black Flame of Paradise (A Novel)

THE BLACK FLAME OF PARADISE (A NOVEL)

MOUSSE PUBLISHING

ISBN: 9788867493395
USD $19.00
| CAN $29.95

Pub Date: 2/19/2019
Active | In stock


Pisti, 80 rue de Belleville

PISTI, 80 RUE DE BELLEVILLE

AFTER 8 BOOKS

ISBN: 9782955948644
USD $16.00
| CAN $22

Pub Date: 6/21/2022
Active | Out of stock


Tuesday or September or The End

TUESDAY OR SEPTEMBER OR THE END

CAPRICIOUS PUBLISHING

ISBN: 9781734656237
USD $25.00
| CAN $35

Pub Date: 5/10/2022
Active | Out of stock


Confidences / Majority

CONFIDENCES / MAJORITY

AFTER 8 BOOKS

ISBN: 9782492650055
USD $16.00
| CAN $22

Pub Date: 7/26/2022
Active | In stock


Blue in Green

BLUE IN GREEN

BLANK FORMS EDITIONS

ISBN: 9781953691118
USD $20.00
| CAN $28

Pub Date: 11/15/2022
Active | In stock


Tractatus Logico-Suicidalis

TRACTATUS LOGICO-SUICIDALIS

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663887
USD $19.95
| CAN $26.95 UK £ 16.95

Pub Date: 11/22/2022
Active | In stock


Spicilege

SPICILEGE

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663870
USD $16.95
| CAN $29.95 UK £ 13.95

Pub Date: 11/22/2022
Active | In stock


Requiem for a Manual Typewriter

REQUIEM FOR A MANUAL TYPEWRITER

SPECTOR BOOKS

ISBN: 9783959055215
USD $20.00
| CAN $28

Pub Date: 12/13/2022
Active | In stock


The Girl Before Her

THE GIRL BEFORE HER

KAYA PRESS

ISBN: 9781885030832
USD $18.95
| CAN $25.95 UK £ 15.95

Pub Date: 5/2/2023
Forthcoming


The House of the Seven Gables

THE HOUSE OF THE SEVEN GABLES

KARMA BOOKS, NEW YORK

ISBN: 9781949172720
USD $35.00
| CAN $49 UK £ 25

Pub Date: 7/19/2022
Active | In stock


Silent Weapons for Quiet Wars

SILENT WEAPONS FOR QUIET WARS

ERRANT BODIES PRESS

ISBN: 9783982316628
USD $24.00
| CAN $33.5

Pub Date: 6/20/2023
Forthcoming


Bruges-la-Morte

BRUGES-LA-MORTE

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663818
USD $14.95
| CAN $18.95 UK £ 11.99

Pub Date: 8/30/2022
Active | In stock