NOVELS AND SHORT STORIES BY AUTHOR

PUBLISHER
Wakefield Press

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 4.5 x 7 in. / 128 pgs / 6 bw.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2016 p. 72   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781939663184 TRADE
List Price: $14.95 CDN $19.95 GBP £10.99

AVAILABILITY
Out of stock

BROWSE THE 2021 FALL CATALOG

Artbook | D.A.P. Catalog Cover Link

Preview our FALL 2021 catalog, featuring more than 500 new books on art, photography, design, architecture, film, music and visual culture.

  

WAKEFIELD PRESS

The Cathedral of Mist

By Paul Willems. Introduction and translation by Edward Gauvin. Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne.

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists: distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.
Paul Willems (191297) published his first novel, Everything Here Is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.
The Cathedral of Mist

STATUS: Out of stock

Temporarily out of stock pending additional inventory.

FORTHCOMING AND NEW: FICTION AND POETRY

The Black Flame of Paradise (A Novel)

THE BLACK FLAME OF PARADISE (A NOVEL)

MOUSSE PUBLISHING

ISBN: 9788867493395
USD $19.00
| CAN $29.95

Pub Date: 2/19/2019
Active | In stock


Room 225-6: A Novel

ROOM 225-6: A NOVEL

RIDINGHOUSE

ISBN: 9781909932029
USD $25.00
| CAN $34.95

Pub Date: 7/1/2015
Active | In stock


Everything Good Dies Here

EVERYTHING GOOD DIES HERE

KAYA PRESS

ISBN: 9781885030764
USD $19.95
| CAN $26.95 UK £ 15.5

Pub Date: 3/8/2022
Forthcoming


An Evocation of Matthias Stimmberg

AN EVOCATION OF MATTHIAS STIMMBERG

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663733
USD $11.95
| CAN $15.95 UK £ 9.99

Pub Date: 9/7/2021
Active | In stock


The Mill

THE MILL

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663719
USD $13.95
| CAN $19 UK £ 11

Pub Date: 10/19/2021
Active | In stock


The Illuminated; or The Precursors of Socialism

THE ILLUMINATED; OR THE PRECURSORS OF SOCIALISM

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663740
USD $22.95
| CAN $31 UK £ 17.99

Pub Date: 2/22/2022
Forthcoming


The Impersonal Adventure

THE IMPERSONAL ADVENTURE

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663726
USD $14.95
| CAN $19.95 UK £ 11.99

Pub Date: 2/22/2022
Forthcoming


The Mayor of Leipzig

THE MAYOR OF LEIPZIG

KARMA BOOKS, NEW YORK

ISBN: 9781949172478
USD $20.00
| CAN $28 UK £ 17.5

Pub Date: 3/30/2021
Active | In stock


Moby-Dick

MOBY-DICK

KARMA BOOKS, NEW YORK

ISBN: 9781949172430
USD $35.00
| CAN $49 UK £ 30

Pub Date: 10/20/2020
Active | In stock


A Nine-Year-Old Aviator

A NINE-YEAR-OLD AVIATOR

DIS VOIR

ISBN: 9782914563994
USD $15.00
| CAN $21 UK £ 11

Pub Date: 2/23/2021
Active | In stock


The Man of Jasmine & Other Texts

THE MAN OF JASMINE & OTHER TEXTS

ATLAS PRESS

ISBN: 9781900565820
USD $23.99
| CAN $32.99

Pub Date: 1/12/2021
Active | In stock


Potsdamer Platz, or, The Nights of the New Messiah

POTSDAMER PLATZ, OR, THE NIGHTS OF THE NEW MESSIAH

WAKEFIELD PRESS

ISBN: 9781939663672
USD $13.95
| CAN $18.95 UK £ 11.99

Pub Date: 7/6/2021
Active | In stock



print icon


arrow back


arrow next


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com