PUBLISHER
Steidl Photography International

BOOK FORMAT
Clothbound, 11 x 10.75 in. / 120 pgs / 46 color.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Out of print

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: FALL 2008 p. 10   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9783865217530 TRADE
List Price: $670.00 CDN $75.00

AVAILABILITY
In stock

BROWSE THE 2019 FALL CATALOG

Preview our Fall 2019 catalog, featuring more than 500 new books on art, photography, design, architecture, film, music and visual culture.

  

STEIDL PHOTOGRAPHY INTERNATIONAL

Alec Soth: Sleeping by the Mississippi

Text by Patricia Hampl, Anne Wilkes Tucker. 2008 Edition. Limited Stock Available.

It's hard to believe that the first edition of Alec Soth's Sleeping by the Mississippi appeared only in 2004, so swiftly has the book become a classic of our time. Evolving from a series of road trips along the Mississippi River, Sleeping by the Mississippi captures America's iconic yet oft-neglected "third coast." Soth's richly descriptive, large format color photographs describe an eclectic mix of individuals, landscapes and interiors. Sensuous in detail and raw in subject, his book elicits a consistent mood of loneliness, longing and reverie. "In the book's 46 ruthlessly edited pictures," writes Anne Wilkes Tucker, "Soth alludes to illness, procreation, race, crime, learning, art, music, death, religion, redemption, politics, and cheap sex... The coherence of the project places Soth's book exactly within the tradition of Walker Evans' American Photographs and Robert Frank's The Americans." Like Frank's classic book, Sleeping by the Mississippi merges a documentary style with a poetic sensibility. The Mississippi River is less the subject of the book than its organizing structure. Not bound by a rigid concept or ideology, the series is created from a quintessentially American spirit of wanderlust. Featuring a new linen-bound cover with a tipped-on image, this is the third print run of a volume which has become one of the most widely collected and highly acclaimed photo books of recent times.
Alec Soth: Sleeping by the Mississippi

in stock  $670.00


Free Shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S.
FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

ALEC SOTH MONOGRAPHS + ARTIST'S BOOKS

Joachim Brohm & Alec Soth: Two Rivers

JOACHIM BROHM & ALEC SOTH: TWO RIVERS

Edited with text by Ralph Goertz. Text by Vince Leo, Wolfgang Ullrich.

WALTHER KöNIG, KöLN

ISBN: 9783960985372
USD $49.95
| CAN $69.95

Pub Date: 9/17/2019
Forthcoming


Alec Soth: Sleeping by the Mississippi

ALEC SOTH: SLEEPING BY THE MISSISSIPPI

Text by Patricia Hampl, Anne Wilkes Tucker. 2008 Edition. Limited Stock Available.

STEIDL PHOTOGRAPHY INTERNATIONAL

ISBN: 9783865217530
USD $670.00
| CAN $75

Pub Date: 6/1/2008
Out of print | In stock


Alec Soth: Niagara

ALEC SOTH: NIAGARA

Essays by Richard Ford and Philip Brookman. Limited Stock Available.

STEIDL

ISBN: 9783865212337
USD $350.00
| CAN $75

Pub Date: 7/1/2006
Out of print | In stock



print icon





ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com