ARTIST MONOGRAPHS

Aaron Curry

Museum Exhibition Catalogues, Monographs, Artist's Projects, Curatorial Writings and Essays


   

FORTHCOMING & NEW RELEASES

Aaron Curry: Boxxes

UCCA/KOENIG BOOKS
Edited by Karen Marta, Brian Roettinger.

Pbk, 6.75 x 9 in. / 144 pgs / 143 color. | 1/27/2015 | Awaiting stock
ISBN 9783863356231 | $30.00


Aaron Curry: Melt to Earth

MICHAEL WERNER GALLERY

Hbk, 6.25 x 8.25 in. / 128 pgs / illustrated throughout. | 9/30/2014 | In stock
ISBN 9781938809071 | $40.00


Aaron Curry: Bad Brain

BAD DIMENSION/KOENIG BOOKS
Edited by Karen Marta. Text by Michael Ned Holte, Richard Hawkins.

Hbk, 9 x 12 in. / 148 pgs / 117 color. | 3/24/2015 | Awaiting stock
ISBN 9783863356293 | $40.00


    

ACTIVE BACKLIST

Aaron Curry: Bad Dimension

WALTHER KöNIG, KöLN

Pbk, 9.75 x 13 in. / 180 pgs / 150 color. | 8/31/2010 | Awaiting stock
ISBN 9783865607454 | $49.95


Aaron Curry: Melt to EarthAaron Curry: Melt to Earth

Published by Michael Werner Gallery.

For Melt to Earth, Los Angeles–based artist Aaron Curry (born 1972) engaged the architecture of New York's Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, transforming an urban plaza into a sculptural theater-in-the-round. Part figurative deconstruction, part abstract invention, Curry's 14 site-specific, boldly painted, larger-than-life sculptures evoked the theater designs of Matisse and Picasso, positioned as if in orbit around the iconic Revson Fountain on Josie Robertson Plaza. The book is beautifully designed and produced with dual stitched bindings on its outer edge, opening into two 64-page sections on opposite sides: a black-and-white "Production Book" and a full-color "Installation Book."

PUBLISHER
MICHAEL WERNER GALLERY

BOOK FORMAT
Hardcover, 6.25 x 8.25 in. / 128 pgs / illustrated throughout.

PUBLISHING STATUS
PUB DATE 9/30/2014
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. EXCLUSIVE
CATALOG: SPRING 2015 p. 142   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781938809071 TRADE
LIST PRICE: $40.00 CDN $40.00

AVAILABILITY
In stock

in stock  $40.00


free shipping

UPS GROUND IN THE CONTINENTAL U.S. FOR CONSUMER ONLINE ORDERS

Aaron Curry: BoxxesAaron Curry: Boxxes

Published by UCCA/Koenig Books.
Edited by Karen Marta, Brian Roettinger.

For his new artist's book Boxxes, Los Angeles–based artist Aaron Curry (born 1972) created 160 unique box sculptures, which he promptly destroyed. Before their destruction, however, Curry photographed these works, so that this volume would contain not only the last record of each of these works, but would also transform and consolidate them into one new, singular work of art—an artist's book in the tradition of John Baldessari and Ed Ruscha, that is appropriately sculptural and material, with its tip-on images and die-cuts. This volume is one in a series of seven distinct artists' books published to accompany the group survey exhibition The Los Angeles Project at the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing.

PUBLISHER
UCCA/KOENIG BOOKS

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 6.75 x 9 in. / 144 pgs / 143 color.

PUBLISHING STATUS
PUB DATE 1/27/2015
Forthcoming

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. EXCLUSIVE
CATALOG: SPRING 2015 p. 141   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9783863356231 TRADE
LIST PRICE: $30.00 CDN $30.00

AVAILABILITY
Awaiting stock

STATUS: Forthcoming | 1/27/2015

This title is not yet published in the U.S. To pre-order or receive our notice when the book is published, please email orders @ artbook.com

Aaron Curry: Bad BrainAaron Curry: Bad Brain

Published by Bad Dimension/Koenig Books.
Edited by Karen Marta. Text by Michael Ned Holte, Richard Hawkins.

Bad Brain, Aaron Curry's eagerly awaited retrospective catalog from his 2014 exhibition at CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux, features 80 artworks spanning a decade, between 2003 and 2014. As Michael Ned Holte writes, Bad Brain draws on the artist's "teenage fondness for Eddie, the skeletal mascot of Iron Maiden, and the gnarly skull drawings of Pushead, who provided artwork for Metallica t-shirts and Texas-based Zorlac skateboards; his eventual encounters with the weird figuration of the Chicago Imagists, the Hairy Who and the oozing faces of Peter Saul during his time in Chicago; and still later his close encounters with Richard Hawkins and Mike Kelley ... who provided support and encouragement for mining the margins (if not broad middle) of culture." The book also includes an annotated scrapbook of Curry's work by Hawkins.

PUBLISHER
BAD DIMENSION/KOENIG BOOKS

BOOK FORMAT
Hardcover, 9 x 12 in. / 148 pgs / 117 color.

PUBLISHING STATUS
PUB DATE 3/24/2015
Forthcoming

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. EXCLUSIVE
CATALOG: SPRING 2015 p. 142   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9783863356293 FLAT40
LIST PRICE: $40.00 CDN $40.00

AVAILABILITY
Awaiting stock

STATUS: Forthcoming | 3/24/2015

This title is not yet published in the U.S. To pre-order or receive our notice when the book is published, please email orders @ artbook.com

Aaron Curry: Bad DimensionAaron Curry: Bad Dimension

Published by Walther König, Köln.

American artist Aaron Curry (born 1972) trawls and amalgamates modernist art sources--Calder, Noguchi, Henry Moore, Cubism and Surrealism--with allusions to phenomena such as graffiti art, American folklore and sci-fi imagery, in an array of media. His gestural paintings on paper, collages and resin-coated shards of cardboard soak up all these influences. Bad Dimension is the first monograph on his work.

PUBLISHER
WALTHER KöNIG, KöLN

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 9.75 x 13 in. / 180 pgs / 150 color.

PUBLISHING STATUS
PUB DATE 8/31/2010
Active

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. EXCLUSIVE
CATALOG: FALL 2010 p. 152   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9783865607454 TRADE
LIST PRICE: $49.95 CDN $49.95

AVAILABILITY
Awaiting stock

STATUS: Out of stock

Temporarily out of stock pending additional inventory.




ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the artworld's favorite source for books on art and culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
155 Sixth Avenue
New York NY 10013
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2013 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com