ARTISTS' WRITINGS, LETTERS AND INTERVIEWS

PUBLISHER
Ridinghouse

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 6 x 8.5 in. / 592 pgs.

PUBLISHING STATUS
Pub Date
Forthcoming

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. Exclusive
Catalog: SPRING 2019 p. 93   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781909932487 TRADE
List Price: $27.50 CDN $39.95

AVAILABILITY
Awaiting stock

BROWSE THE 2019 SPRING CATALOG

Check out our Spring 2019 catalog, featuring more than 500 new books on art & culture. We welcome new publishers Arquine, Atelier Éditions, August Editions, The Design Museum, London, Eakins Press, Editions Patrick Frey, Fulgur Press, Kasmin, Lisson Gallery, Marciano Art Foundation, Marsilio Editori, Onomatopee and Ridinghouse to our list in 2019!

  

RIDINGHOUSE

The Outwardness of Art: Selected Writings of Adrian Stokes

Edited with introduction by Thomas Evans.

Immensely influential and beloved by artists, writers and theorists alike, Adrian Stokes (1902–72) was the last of the great British amateur art historians in the tradition of Ruskin and Berenson, and—as the first art theorist to synthesize aesthetics and psychoanalysis—the first of the moderns. Since the publication of his groundbreaking Faber books The Quattro Cento and Stones of Rimini in the 1930s, Stokes' writing has enjoyed an incredibly diverse readership across disciplines from psychoanalysis to literature and art, from Ernst Gombrich to Meyer Shapiro, Ben Nicholson to Philip Guston, Ezra Pound to John Ashbery. The singular breadth of his fan base reflects the diverse milieux in which he moved (whether the Bloomsbury of the Sitwells, Melanie Klein's London acolytes, Ezra Pound's circle or the St Ives artists). And yet it has been nearly 45 years since a broad introduction to his work was commercially available. In the wake of a recent biography, critical studies and reprints of individual volumes, this volume presents a substantial selection from Stokes’ published writings, highlighting him as a pioneering thinker of art and a virtuoso of the essay form.
In 1972, the year of Stokes' death, the philosopher and art historian Richard Wollheim edited a selection of his writings, published by Penguin and titled The Image in Form. Wollheim’s selection drew from famous books such as The Quattro Cento, Stones of Rimini, Colour and Form, Inside Out, Smooth and Rough and others. This volume also draws on these classic texts (presenting entire essays and chapters rather than selections), and significantly expands the selection with the addition of important essays published posthumously and Stokes’ superb ballet writings of the 1920s. This book introduces one of the 20th century's great prose stylists and most nuanced aesthetic theorists for a new audience.


The Outwardness of Art: Selected Writings of Adrian Stokes

STATUS: Forthcoming | 6/18/2019

This title is not yet published in the U.S. To pre-order or receive notice when the book is available, please email orders @ artbook.com



print icon


arrow back


arrow back


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com