EXPERIMENTAL WRITINGS AND PROJECTS

PUBLISHER
KAYA PRESS

BOOK FORMAT
Paperback, 6 x 8 in. / 184 pgs.

PUBLISHING STATUS
PUB DATE
Forthcoming

DISTRIBUTION
D.A.P. EXCLUSIVE
CATALOG: SPRING 2017 p. 75   

PRODUCT DETAILS
ISBN 9781885030504 TRADE
LIST PRICE: $19.95 CDN $25.95

AVAILABILITY
Awaiting stock

  

KAYA PRESS

Stolen Oranges

Letters Between Cervantes and the Emperor of China, A Pseudo-Fiction

Published by Kaya Press
By Max Yeh.

In locations ranging from the archives of Imperial China to a rare book shop in Mexico City, a Chinese American historian discovers six anonymous documents in Spanish and Chinese, and constructs them into a years-long correspondence between the Chinese Emperor Wanli and Cervantes, the author of Don Quixote. Utilizing his vast historical knowledge and linguistic abilities, the historian draws connections across the disparate geography of the 17th century. As in his acclaimed previous novel, The Beginning of the East, Max Yeh remaps literary conventions, sending ripples through the idea of historical fiction in the vein of Jorge Luis Borges and Italo Calvino.
Max Yeh (born 1937) has taught at the University of California, Irvine, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, and New Mexico State University. He lives in the New Mexico mountains with his wife and daughter, where he works on a wide range of subjects including literary theory, linguistics, art history and science.

Stolen Oranges

STATUS: Forthcoming | 8/22/2017

This title is not yet published in the U.S. To pre-order or receive our notice when the book is published, please email orders @ artbook.com



print icon


arrow back


arrow forward


ARTBOOK LOGO
 
 

the art world's source for books on art & culture

  

CUSTOMER SERVICE
orders@artbook.com
212 627 1999
M-F 9-5 EST

TRADE ACCOUNTS

800 338 2665

CONTACT

JOBS + INTERNSHIPS

NEW YORK
Showroom by Appointment Only
75 Broad Street, Suite 630
New York NY 10004
Tel   212 627 1999

LOS ANGELES
Showroom by Appointment Only
818 S. Broadway, Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA 90014
Tel. 323 969 8985

ARTBOOK LLC
D.A.P. | Distributed Art Publishers, Inc.


All site content Copyright C 2000-2017 by Distributed Art Publishers, Inc. and the respective publishers, authors, artists. For reproduction permissions, contact the copyright holders.

ARTBOOK AMPERSAT

The D.A.P. Catalog
www.artbook.com